My Son Is Teaching Me How To Be A Good Father And A Good Human Being

You’d be surprised just how much adults can learn from children

Benny Lim
Family Matters

--

A father holds his baby in a pumpkin patch. The child is wearing dungarees and smiling at the camera. The father is smiling.
Photo by Derek Owens on Unsplash

When I lost my dad to illness back in 2013, I was roughly 8 months away from getting married. The thought that one of the most important people in my life would not be at my wedding was heart-breaking.

It was also scary when my wife and I found out she was pregnant.

I was going to be a father and the person that I needed the most to guide me on how to be a good father was no longer around.

So, when my son arrived and it was time for me to be a proper father, I did the only thing I could think to do — remember how my own father was to me and do the same for my son.

I felt like the only way I could be a good father to my son was to be like my father, to do the things that he did for me when I was a kid.

But my son had other ideas and over the last 5 and a half years, he’s taught me so much more than I could imagine on how to be a good father but more importantly, on how to be a good human being.

We’re all different and that’s OK

My son looks like me, according to family and friends. However, his behaviour, personality, and…

--

--

Benny Lim
Family Matters

Medium writer since 2019, writing my way to a better life, and helping you lead a better life, one article at a time. https://iambennylim.medium.com/membership