Why Spanking Doesn't Work

Matthew J. Koehler
Family Matters
Published in
5 min readFeb 14, 2020

--

Corporal punishment is about satisfying your own anger and fear, not about teaching children.

The situation

She was standing there slapping her arm with a look that said, “I’m hitting myself but it doesn’t hurt. See? See? See?!?” I was not amused. Then, as if on cue, she laid on the ground, face down and cried, fakely.

Sympathy garnering at its finest.

You can’t beat understanding into a child like you can fear

Usually, I walk away. Unless she really gets angry and becomes a potential danger to herself. Often tripping over things or throwing herself at dangerous objects. The mini manipulator garners my sympathy. I pick her up to make sure she’s alright; it’s a constant reminder of who’s actually in control.

Before this particular episode, she’d slapped me in the face because I’d taken away a crayon that she was eating. Her immediate rage and violent outburst followed.

After the slap, she put on her “O face," surprising herself at smacking me. I shout and briefly entertain the thought of a spanking, but that’s not my style. I look at her and repeat my mantra, “Hitting hurts."

She slaps me again. I give her the evil eye, put her down, and walk away. Which brings us back to…

--

--

Matthew J. Koehler
Family Matters

Stories. Verse. Humor. Most of this is true. Bylines around the Web. Former editor of 'The Southwester' newspaper. Portfolio here: https://linktr.ee/MattjK