The Day A Lady Made Me Cry In Wal-Mart

Jessica Smith
Family Matters
Published in
6 min readOct 26, 2019

--

She Didn’t Know My Whole Story. She Could Have Kept Her Mouth Shut.

Image by Jeremy Smith from Pixabay

I’ll never forget the day that I was made to cry in Wal-Mart. It wasn’t a good type of cry. It was a cry that had been waiting to be released for months. One that just confirmed that I was doing a crappy job at this whole parenting gig. Or so I thought.

I had just recently become a single mom. My life was chaos while I tried to find my footing. I had three kids under 5 years old.

I was suffering from anxiety and depression and was not medicated at this time. Though I should have been.

Even in the best of times, taking 3 young kids to the grocery store is hell on earth. I’m sure most mothers hate taking their kids to the store with them but sometimes it has to be done.

Image by Виктория Бородинова from Pixabay

I was so low on groceries because my anxiety was keeping me from leaving the house. Just the thought of it sent me into a panic attack. But it had to be done. I had let it go as long as I could and I had to psych myself up to leave the house and deal with the public.

--

--

Jessica Smith
Family Matters

Writer and mother. I write about whatever pops into my head. Relationships, Self, Mental Health, Parenting, Whatever. https://twitter.com/3282jessicah