The Pros and Cons of Sharing Our Kids on Social Media

A guide to making the right decision for your family

Catelyn Silapachai
Family Matters

--

Image via Tuấn Kiệt Jr.

When my daughter was born 18 months ago, I carefully considered whether or not to share her photos on my social media accounts. It’s a question that all parents in today’s society must grapple with on some level. Most would agree that there’s something wrong with the “pageant mom” variety of using children’s images, but there is a large grey area between sharing nothing at all and sharing at an exploitative level. I recently asked my social media followers for their opinions on the topic and have summarized my findings below. Absorbing such a disparate set of views on this polarizing issue helped me to make a decision that feels right for my family.

Reasons to share

One of the most prevalent reasons that parents choose to share their children on social media is for the benefit of friends and family. It’s a convenient way to share moments and milestones that doesn’t involve using a different app, text, or email. Those who share for this reason often cull their followers down to just close friends and family, or share only on private accounts.

Several of my friends who are influencers share inspirational and creative content to help other parents on social media. This might include…

--

--

Catelyn Silapachai
Family Matters

I write about books, parenting, politics, and religion. I live in Austin, Texas with my husband, daughter, dogs, and plants.