What is Success Anyway? I Just Want My Children to Be Kind

Let’s redefine “extraordinary”.

Amanda Clark-Rudolph
Family Matters

--

Photo by Matt Collamer on Unsplash

How to raise a “successful” child has always been a hot topic in the parenting world, and as a mom of two toddler boys, I reflect on this concept a lot. Because when asked recently what I wanted for my children’s future, the word “successful” didn’t immediately come to mind (gasp). Instead, my straight answer was

“I want my children to be happy and kind.”

The way I see it: happiness and kindness result in success anyway.

For those who know me, this may come as somewhat of a surprise, because I’ve been a go-getter with grit and a goal-oriented mind, all of my life. On paper, I have my share of accomplishments to boot, and although I don’t usually relay my so-called list of triumphs, I feel the need to do so to make my next point- so bear with me.

  • I was captain of my division 1 soccer team at Southern Methodist University (SMU) where I received All Wac and regional honors.
  • I received a Bachelor’s in Art History from SMU, and a Masters in education from the University of Vermont (4.0 GPA).
  • I published four books of poetry Looking at the Moon, Flying Fall, Beautifully

--

--

Amanda Clark-Rudolph
Family Matters

Amanda is a work at home mama who contributes to various magazines and blogs. Contact her at writeonfreelancingllc@gmail.com for interview or blog articles.