01 | Mastering business and product strategy: Starting my journey to hopefully becoming a good strategist

Jan-Henrik Stocker
Homeday
Published in
7 min readMar 17, 2022

--

1️⃣ ✨ 🚀 Here we go, my first article on strategy! 🥁

It should be the start of a little “strategy series” in which I will share my insights from reviewing available frameworks and compiling my own perspective on strategy. Hopefully, this will clear the strategy mess for me – and provide valuable input for you to form your own perspective. 🤓

What can you expect from this series? I will question terms and approaches until I have really gained clarity and honestly feel confident to develop successful strategies – without bullshitting.

🤔 Why I write articles on strategy

💩 Most strategies don’t deserve the name – they’re bullshit

Strategy is a fuzzy term which seems to be taught, understood and also misused in way too many facets. At first glance, frameworks seem pretty easy and only a matter of application – especially as they are mostly told within success stories. However, strategy is everything but easy. 😕 🤷🏻‍♂️

❌ Many managers lack strategic expertise

--

--

Jan-Henrik Stocker
Homeday

Lead Product Manager & Coach, Angel Investor, Customer Support Consultant, Mentor & Strategy Enthusiast