Aristotle’s “Truth Roughly” & the Impact of Human Trust

The White Hat Syndicate
Homeland Security
Published in
4 min readNov 2, 2015

Last week I had a meeting at a federal building in the downtown heart of a major UASI city. As I approached the building I could see the physical security efforts beginning to increase around me. The city’s traffic department had long eliminated metered parking in the area. The building’s architects had done their best to blend vehicle barricades, remote access controls, security signage and pedestrian access points to flow as seamlessly as possible. The exterior force protection officers were alert and professional, keeping loitering to a minimum. As I entered the lobby in uniform, with a badge displayed and a radio on my hip, I was greeted with a long line of credentialed employees and visitors funneling towards security checkpoints, each with multiple armed officers, x-ray devices, and metal detectors. This specific building holds offices for several different federal agencies, including DOD and law enforcement entities, and security — as one might expect — was a priority.

As I prepared to get in the security line, a guard (whom I had never met) motioned for me to bypass the group and approach the gate. When I arrived at his position he greeted me and said, “Good afternoon, sir. No need to wait in that line. Do you know where you’re headed?” I thanked him, indicated that I knew where I was going and proceeded towards the building’s central elevator.

On the elevator ride to meet a military colleague, I realized that in my encounter with the guard I had in no way identified myself, my agency, or my business in the building. The guard did not request any department identification, add me to any ‘special access’ log, or otherwise confirm the contents of my pockets or the briefcase I was holding.

The impersonation of first responders is a well-documented tactic for malicious actors. Seemingly “official-looking” individuals can use the ruse to conduct an attack, perform surveillance, or facilitate escape. In my case, last week, the entire uniform that I presented to the guard could be purchased online for roughly $300.

This tactic works because of the social norms around perceived authority figures and the impact that simple human intuition has on decision-making. From the moment I approached the building, I was surrounded by millions of dollars in technological and physical security measures. The overwhelming majority of the building is subject to around-the-clock, off-site surveillance. There are hundreds of cameras, control zones, and armed guards. And I strolled past the main checkpoint in the name of professional courtesy. Quite simply, to the guard I encountered, I looked the part.

A well-designed, multi-layered security system, compromised by the imperfect assumptions of human trust.

In Nicomachean Ethics, Aristotle argued that there is no one path to a good life. While his students pleaded for a formula or specific rules or a guarantee, the great teacher simply noted, “We shall be satisfied to indicate the truth roughly and in outline… [seeking exactness] to the extent that the nature of the subject allows.” Much like creating a “good life,” the homeland security enterprise is an inexact endeavor. It does not exist in a binary counterbalance of ones and zeros. It is nuanced, messy and subject to human intuition with all of the preconceived biases, experiences, and expectations that it brings with it. While we should continuously test and measure to evolve towards standards of excellence, we must also be prepared for — much like Aristotle’s plan for a good life — a system where success is measured roughly and in outline. Over the next few weeks, my biweekly column for The Syndicate will focus on the philosophy and psychology found in different corners of the homeland security enterprise. I welcome your thoughts on these and other topics here on Medium and on Twitter at @TheWHSyndicate.

Greggory J. Favre, MS is a Captain with the St. Louis Fire Department and anexecutive member of the FBI’s Joint Terrorism Task Force. Assigned to the Fire Chief’s Command Staff, he responsible for homeland security, special operations, and strategic planning initiatives across multiple bureaus. You can follow him on Twitter: @GreggFavre

He is part of The White Hat Syndicate, a Medium account launched on October 26 that publishes thought-provoking articles about cutting-edge homeland security topics. The six authors come from a diverse array of professional and personal backgrounds: legal, fire, environmental health, federal transportation security, and law enforcement.

The Syndicate invites you to engage us in conversation, either here on Medium or via twitter. We look forward to the discussion.

Opinions expressed in this essay are solely those of the author, and do not reflect the official policy of his employer, professional associations, the United States Naval Postgraduate School, the Department of Defense or the U.S. Government.

--

--

The White Hat Syndicate
Homeland Security

Homeland security musings from a lawyer, a firefighter, an environmental health expert, a federal transportation security manager, and two cops. | #HSFuture