Worthwhile Weekend Wrap-Up: Sun Protection

Safe Kids Security Council
Homeland Security
Published in
4 min readApr 10, 2017

I dread annual appointments with my dermatologist. I started going a few years ago on the advice of my mother who had been diagnosed with multiple basal cell carcinomas (BCCs). Fortunately, she had the BCCs removed without incident, but each year I fear that I will receive the same diagnosis, or worse, from my very kind, very pale doctor. It is a reasonable concern given that skin cancer is the most common form of cancer in the United States. According to the CDC, during the last year statistics were generated, 71,943 people in the United States were diagnosed with, and 9,394 people died from melanomas of the skin. My doctor did offer some worthy counsel last time I saw her: she said, “It appears you have good sun-conscious habits and I recommend you maintain them. At this point, should something develop, it would not likely be due to your lack of effort, but instead a failure on the part of your parents to adequately protect you from the dangers of the sun when you were very young.” Which brings us to the focus of my story today.

As the weather improves and spring blossoms, the opportunity to be outside increases. This past weekend, I spent a significant amount of time outside with my ten-month-old. We went for a walk, bought some produce at a farmer’s market, played in the yard, visited animals at the local zoo, and went for jog with him in his stroller. Each time I dressed him to head outside in the Virginia sun, my dermatologist’s words went through my head, a failure on the part of your parents to adequately protect you from the dangers of the sun when you were very young. I am determined to ensure that I give my son the best chance to stay skin cancer-free. Hopefully, after you read this article, you will too.

I had the good fortune of getting some excellent education and experience on the subject of sun safety over the past decade. I am a rescue swimmer with my federal agency. This has exposed me to hours worth of classes on sun safety. In addition, I have had the good fortune to work with some of the best rescue swimmers and lifeguards in the world. Many of them have shared their insights on the best methods of sun protection. From discussions with lifeguards in Hawaii and classes on sun protection, the following are some recommendations that may help you and your children beat the dangers of the sun and still enjoy being outside this spring and summer.

  • Avoid the strongest rays of the day, which are usually between 10:00A and 4:00P.
  • If you are going to be outside, know where the shade is and make use of it. If there isn’t any shade, like the beach, there are options like portable pop-up tents to ensure there is shade nearby.
  • If your child is going to be outside, put sunscreen on them with a sun protection factor (SPF) of at least 15. Even if it is cloudy weather, the harmful UV rays can penetrate the clouds and be harmful. If they are going in the pool, be prepared to re-apply it.
  • There are debates over the “best” or “safest” sunscreens. I will not be engaging in that debate here. I would advise that you do your own research and speak to a doctor for medical advice on the subject. I opt for sunscreens that contain zinc made by companies like Badger, Watermans, or Vertra. (Two of those brands are used by the lifeguards I worked with in Hawaii)
  • Clothing is also helpful in blocking harmful rays, but many clothes provide a sun protection factor less than 15 so, if you are unsure, applying sunscreen under the clothing may be beneficial.
  • Put a hat on your child. If it is a baseball cap, don’t forget to put sunscreen on their ears.
  • Sunglasses protect your children’s eyes from UVA and UVB rays. My ten-month-old hasn’t started wearing them yet but that is only because he would try to eat them.

Eliminating the sun’s rays is not realistic. However, taking proactive steps to keep your children safe while they have fun is not impossible. Hopefully, these tips help. For additional information on sun safety, check in the CDC.

The Safe Kids Security Council (“SKSC”) blog exists to share personal experiences and information related to the dangers that impact children. The views, opinions, experiences, and advice provided within this blog belong solely to the individual contributors and should not be interpreted as legal or medical advice. This blog is provided for informational purposes only. The SKSC makes no representations as to the accuracy, reliability, or completeness of the information provided herein. The SKSC will not be liable for any errors or omission in this information or any losses, injuries, or damages from the display or use of this information.

This blog does not represent people, institutions, or employers that the individual contributors may be associated with in a professional or personal capacity.

This blog may contain external links to other sites for the convenience of its readers. The SKSC does not control or guarantee the accuracy, relevance, timeliness, or completeness of information on external sites.

--

--

Safe Kids Security Council
Homeland Security

Five homeland security professionals from federal, state, and local law enforcement, collaborating to bring awareness to child safety.