Were Golden Bachelor’s Gerry Turner And Theresa Nist Scamming Us With A Fake Relationship?

Their story seemed a little too good to be true

Ruby Lee
Hometown Ramblings
Published in
3 min readApr 13, 2024

--

Photo by Keila Hötzel on Unsplash

Did you watch the Golden Bachelor?

Last fall, for the first time, seniors were featured on a dating reality show. I’m sure the young people reacted to the news by shuddering at the thought of old people having sex. Meanwhile, those of us at a “certain age” sat at the edge of our seats, anticipating who Gerry would choose to be his special lady.

Admittedly, I’m not exactly a fan of the Bachelor television show franchise. The desperate attempts to catch the eye of the Bachelor or Bachelorette often seem excessive, and I can’t help but question why anyone would subject themselves to such potential heartbreak.

Still, the thought of two older people finding love in their golden years seemed exciting to me. Every week, I sat on the edge of my seat, trying to guess who Gerry would choose.

I was especially impressed with the Bachelorettes. All of the grannies were especially attractive. There were no frumps in the group. One granny even missed her daughter’s wedding for the opportunity to be on the show. I wonder if she regrets that now since she wasn’t chosen.

--

--

Ruby Lee
Hometown Ramblings

Mother, Wife, Teacher, Librarian, Teller of Stories. Author of The Marriage Wars by Leeanne Beasley Berry. Top Writer in Parenting, This Happened to Me, Humor