A Few Dozen Hands

Anupama Ramanujam
The Patchwork Soul
Published in
1 min readAug 16, 2020

I have a few dozen hands…

There are the ones that help with household chores

And the ones that manage the household bores

Then there are the ones that shoved me into the world

And the ones that kept me snug and curled

Of course, there are the ones that held me grounded

And the ones that gave insights as things unfounded

I cannot forget the ones that came along with their applause…

Oh, never mind!

All my hands gave me a cause

To join my own two hands in an attitude

Of celebrating gratitude

Yes, I have a few dozen hands

It took a virus

And a walk into the impending darkness

To see the few dozen faces

Hiding behind those few dozen hands

I thought I had…

How many hands do you have? Do you recognize the faces behind them?

--

--

Anupama Ramanujam
The Patchwork Soul

Anupama Ramanujam is an author who used to think that anxiety was something that happened to others…now, well, she is trying to crawl back up, head back home…