A New Found Way

Anupama Ramanujam
The Patchwork Soul
Published in
2 min readOct 30, 2019

There was a time when silence surrounded me

I hated it, for it made me terribly lonely

When the voices arrived to give me company

I fell in love like a bee falls for honey

But soon the voices began to take over

All that was left was noises to hear

My emotions got the better of me

I screamed for the silence to get back to me

As the noises refused to disappear

And the silence refused to stay

I chose not to fall for either once again

When I walked from one into another

And back into one once again,

Both the noise and the silence

Began to make way for each other

I began to find order in the chaos

And courage in the silence

I also found something in-between

Something that was always hanging around

But never quite found

It looks like the sky,

Yet does not leave you high

It works like the water

Yet does not drown you in its power

It is a lock for which you hold the keys

It is a feeling called Inner Peace

Dear Reader,

My son and niece once asked everyone in the family what they would prefer — day or night. My niece declared that she wished that the day would never end so she could always do all the things that she wanted to do. It made me wonder, what if the day never ended, what if there was no night? Or what if there was no day, and all that we could see was the dark of the night? Choosing between day and night is as futile as choosing between birth and death, in neither of which, we have a picking.

Imagine yourself standing on a road that needs to be crossed. You will obviously look at both sides to ensure that the road is clear. Now imagine yourself standing on a divided road that needs to be crossed. You will have to look at only one side at a time. Life has grown to work like that. By looking at only one half of the situation, we have trained ourselves to think and work with a singular view point, whether it be positive or negative.

The middle way is for those who do not wish to choose between day and night. It is for people who realize that the night is just as important as the day. And it is for those of us who understand the reality that however much we wish for the day to not end, or for the sun to not rise; the day does end, and the sun does rise. And whether we like it or not, Shit Happens!

--

--

Anupama Ramanujam
The Patchwork Soul

Anupama Ramanujam is an author who used to think that anxiety was something that happened to others…now, well, she is trying to crawl back up, head back home…