How to network your way into a business role in Tech (BizTech)

Diana Hsieh
Hone Club
Published in
6 min readApr 23, 2020
Photo by Diana Parkhouse on Unsplash

Although tech companies have a certain mystique, perhaps due to shows like Silicon Valley that thrive on perpetuating that image, they are in many ways just like other companies in other industries. They need marketing teams to help them drive usage. They need content marketers to write important content that users can consume. They need business analysts to help them optimize their business and analyze growth. They need sales teams to drive revenue. So if you already have these skills, but are outside of Tech, you are well-positioned to make a transition into Tech.

However, trying to break in can be daunting! Several years ago, I had to make a transition from being an investor / banking analyst to a product manager. Here’s a step-by-step approach to figuring out how to break in using my experience as an example case study.

TLDR: Don’t give up. Keep networking. And find someone who will take a bet on you. Also, if you’ve been impacted by COVID-19, Hone Club has a free volunteer-based mentorship program with mentors who can help you with resume reviews. If you’re interested or already in BizTech, you can also join the community where we are focused on helping everyone build their careers!

Step 1: Define your dream job by doing your research and networking

In order to come up with a plan on how to break in, you have to figure out what job you are aiming for first! I googled around and stalked people on LinkedIn to figure out what roles people with my background ended up doing. I whittled it down to three options: product marketing, business development, and product management. I did a bit of research to understand what each role did, but ultimately found that Google had severe limitations in actually explaining what it would be like to do each role.

In order to learn more, I again used LinkedIn, as well as my personal network, to conduct informational interviews with people who were working in the roles that I was interested in. Although not everyone responded to my outreach, I was still able to get amazing help from people. I realized that product management would be a stretch for me, but that I could craft a reasonable story for transitions into product marketing and business development. However, through my conversations with mentors, I realized that I wanted to ultimately become a product manager. A lot of people actually told me that I wouldn’t be able to get there, so I decided to apply to both product management and product marketing roles to test the market. I didn’t apply for business development roles because based on my research, it appeared that it would be easier to transition from product marketing to product management.

If you’re looking to transition into BizTech and aren’t sure what role you’d be a fit for, sign up for Hone Club! We help you figure out what roles you might be a fit for.

Step 2: Update your resume using the language that recruiters use for your dream job

Recruiters are often sifting through hundreds of resumes, and they end up having to look for keywords. It’s important to incorporate those words in your resume. In my case, I updated my finance resume to focus more on market research, process management, and strategic analysis. Let’s look at a quick example, focusing just on my experience as an investment banker (with some info redacted)!

Ok, I don’t know about you, but that version felt like a wall of words thrown at you, didn’t it? If you are in banking, it probably made sense, but if you aren’t, it absolutely does not tell the story of how I might be a great fit for product management. So here’s what I did. First, I shortened it dramatically. Next, I outlined the skills that I wanted to highlight that make me a great fit for product management (pertaining to just the Morgan Stanley experience). These skills were (1) analytical ability, (2) client-side experience that would help me connect with customers, and (3) involvement in business strategy.

If you’re going through this exercise, Hone Club can help pair you up with a mentor who will review your resume!

Step 3: Test the market by applying to jobs that match your interests

Next up, it’s time to test the market. You have to apply to a bunch of different companies so that you can figure out what barriers you are facing in your transition. I applied to around 20 different startups with product management roles, and perhaps 20 other product marketing roles. I found these startups by looking up investors I respected and checking out their portfolio companies. I also knew that I liked developer tools, so I looked up lists of startups in the developer tool space.

Step 4: Don’t get discouraged! Keep an open mind, and keep networking!

We all know that online applications feel like throwing your resume in a black hole. Even if you get a rejection, it’s always boilerplate. When I applied, I actually got very few responses back for product management roles. I was getting better luck with product marketing. This indicated to me that what people were telling me (essentially, I’d have a hard time getting into product management) was true. It also indicated that I would have to find a way to overcome the resume phase, since I knew that if I could get an interview, I’d be able to convince people that I had enough drive to do a good job.

So I went back to the list of startups that I had and simply started reaching out to people I knew (or who were second-degree connections). This took a while, but this is ultimately how I found a job. At first, I started out as a product marketer, but was able to quickly transition into product management. LinkedIn is a great tool for networking, so if you don’t have a good LinkedIn profile, update it immediately!

Ultimately, don’t give up, and fill knowledge gaps as you hit them!

I remember one of my college advisors telling me that each resume you send out is like cutting out a piece of your ego and never getting it back. It can often feel super demoralizing to send out a bunch of resumes and receive a bunch of rejections. Don’t give up!

That being said, networking can only get you so far. At a certain point, you really do need to fill knowledge gaps (like how to use Excel, or how to use Salesforce). There are great resources out there that can teach you the basics. You can also try to get a job as an intern or temp worker first to learn those skills. Keep an open mind on the actual role you get, as there are always opportunities to move to new roles once you get your foot in the door.

Join Hone Club!

Now that I’ve been in Tech for a while, I still see many companies who insist on hiring people “who have done it before.” As someone who hadn’t done it before, I’m so grateful that there are people out there who are willing to take bets on candidates who might not look like they are the perfect fit on paper. At Hone Club, we are working to build a community for people in BizTech so that we can continue to build careers and drive diversity within tech organizations. Whether you are already in BizTech or are looking to transition, join us today!

--

--

Diana Hsieh
Hone Club

Co-founder @ Correlated. Find me @dianasaur323