Here’s a Great Way to Reframe and Overcome Writer’s Block

The real reason why we don’t sit down and do the work

Jamie Jackson
Honest Creative

--

Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash

I’ve got writer’s block. Again. Here it comes, the big, lumbering… thing, over the horizon. What’s the coming over the hill, is it a monster, is it a monster?

No, it’s just our old familiar friend writer’s block.

Though it’s not really writer’s block, is it? It’s not a block at all, it’s all doubt, writer’s doubt. I have loads of ideas to write about, a whole drafts folder of ideas, over 100 or more titles, paragraphs and scraps of articles ready to be embellished and brought to life, but as I look through each of them I think “Oh no, I can’t write about that now” or “Perhaps this topic isn’t really me”, whatever that might mean.

See, it’s doubt, not a block.

Doubt stops me from writing. Doubt stops us all from writing one time or another. Sometimes you feel like Hemingway, sometimes you feel like no-way (sorry, that’s an appalling play of words, but don’t blame me, blame the writer’s doubt).

A confession: As I write this, I’m simultaneously writing another article. Seriously, I’m half-way through both of them, sometimes it’s the only way I can get my mind to focus, by tactical distraction. It’s a bit like listening to music whilst…

--

--

Jamie Jackson
Honest Creative

Between two skies and towards the night. // Email me: jamiejacksonati [at] gmail [dot] com