Hit “Publish” Before Perfection

Constant perfectionism will only hold you back

Kayla Marie
Honest Creative

--

I’m not one of them, but I’ve met plenty of people who are keen to withhold their creations from the world until they deem them “perfect.’’

I take two issues with this.

One, perfection is subjective.

Two, if your goal is to grow as a creator, you’re procrastinating potential success.

In the past few months, I’ve found two platforms I want to be successful on: Medium and YouTube.

Once the weekend rolls around, I kick into high-gear to create my weekly content. Regardless of whether or not it’s perfect, I will have one video and one article finished by Tuesday.

If you haven’t picked a platform to commit to, seeking perfection is a little easier because there’s less pressure to perform and less pressure to show-up. But if you know where and how you want to grow, it’s time to toss perfection out the window and re-analyze your priorities.

If you’ve picked the platforms you want to commit to, such as a blog, YouTube channel, or Medium page, here are a few important reasons to push your perfectionism to the sidelines.

You Can’t Consistently Grow

--

--

Kayla Marie
Honest Creative

I was the kid reading NatGeo in the waiting room • I write about content creation and expat life • Based in Taiwan • Find me on YouTube: shorturl.at/opHN4