Interview with a Published Author

His advice for new writers and his creative process

Celeste Tsang
Honest Creative

--

Image credit: Childe Hassam — Sunset at sea (1911)

It is always fascinating to go behind the scene. It is a great opportunity to learn from masters in the field. I started an Interview with an artist series to learn from great writers and artists. It also helps me discover other great writers as I do these interviews.

Bret Alan Hart is a poet and he has published two novels and a poetry collection. He is one of the curators and hosts of Poets Anonymous Instagram live. Poets Anonymous is one of the most famous poetry feature pages in the poetry community on Instagram.

Can you tell us a bit about yourself?

I am from Milwaukee, Wisconsin (USA) born and raised. I have two adult children, a son and a daughter. In my spare time (aside from writing), I like to sketch and collect records.

How did your journey of writing poetry start? What motivated you to start posting on Instagram?

I started in high school at around 16. My stepfather did not allow me to draw or paint in the house. So when I was not in art class, I started writing at home.

I saw a few poets on Instagram back in early 2013 and thought I would give it a try. It has been a great outlet for my creativity and I have gotten to know some amazing…

--

--

Celeste Tsang
Honest Creative

Sign up to get a free poetry book and a Spotify playlist for writing sessions. Essays on book marketing, self-publishing and writing: celestetsang.substack.com/