Willpower Is Overrated, Have Courage Instead

The only 2021 resolution you need.

Sergey Faldin 🇺🇦
Honest Creative

--

Photo by Diogo Nunes on Unsplash

At the beginning of this year, I caught myself by the tail.

But before I explain what that means, we need to understand something important.

Most of the time, there’s no such thing as ‘the process of making a decision.’ Most of the time, the decision has been made. You know what you need to do. Even if you don’t, your body does. Everything else is just hesitation.

Similarly, when we spend endless hours contemplating what our ‘calling’ is, what we’re most likely doing is indulging in our own self-pity.

We know what we need to do. Everything else is just procrastination. This brings me to…

The tail.

I found myself in a weird place at the end of 2020.

I’ve been writing for quite some time on Medium (14 months, to be exact). And I’ve been writing every single day. Then, in a span of three months, a few things happened: I broke up with my girlfriend, quit my job, and went to live back to my home city for a while. In case you were wondering, I don’t recommend anyone doing all those things at once.

Which is to say, I stopped writing. Not at all — but I did stop publishing. Shipping. And as Seth Godin says in his new…

--

--

Sergey Faldin 🇺🇦
Honest Creative

Honest thoughts. Unpopular opinions. Not necessarily true or smart. | The Guardian, Al Jazeera, Meduza | muckrack.com/sfaldin | Subscribe: sergeys.substack.com