Peeling copper

Acegi K
Honest myths
Published in
1 min readMay 22, 2018

The tree shimmers at the end of the street. It has very few leaves, though it is the peak of summer. I stare intently at its rich, copper bark, slowly unwinding from the delicate trunk, no thicker than a ballerina’s wrist.

My pulse winds down to match the rhythmic fluttering of the loose flakes of bark in the whispering breeze.

Photo by Chad Carpenter, Orkney

“You seemed so alive back then. You had so much more confidence.”

I wonder what it would be like to touch the bark. The reassuring, smooth wax of a polished apple? Or cold, indifferent bone? I unwittingly take my hands out of my pockets.

He seems relieved.

“I’m just trying to say that whatever’s getting you down right now, it won’t last forever.”

I look through him, the tree shimmering behind him as if to cast a spell I’d agreed with it lifetimes ago.

You are in love with a person who no longer exists.

The copper bark flutters indifferently in the breeze. My pulse winds further down.

AK

--

--