11 Traits of a Highly Toxic Boyfriend

I’ve learned a lot from some of these guys.

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours

--

studiostoks | AdobeStock

For better or for worse, I know a lot about being a toxic girlfriend because I’ve been one. In the past, I’ve been oblivious to my drama, my bad attitudes, and my magical thinking when it comes to relationships.

But my experience with bad romances doesn’t end there. On more than one occasion, I wasn’t the only unhealthy one. I’ve had more toxic boyfriends than I’d like to admit, and for a long time, I struggled to recognize the repeat offenders.

My toxic traits weren’t the same as my boyfriends’ toxic traits. It took time to finally see the patterns, but I’m grateful to understand them now. It’s become much easier to walk away when something feels off.

While the following traits are not exclusive to cisgender men, these are some of the more common ones I’ve run into in my love life.

He’s always looking for “the right person,” even when he’s in a committed relationship.

In other words, he’s a real Ted Mosby from How I Met Your Mother. I know guys like this and I’ve dated a guy like this. When my ex and I began our tumultuous and toxic breakup, he actually described himself to me as Ted Mosby — not realizing that the…

--

--

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours

It's not about being flawless, it's about being honest. Calling out vipers since 2018 🍵 https://ko-fi.com/shannonashley 📧 truthurts.substack.com