11 Traits of a Highly Toxic Girlfriend

It takes one to know one.

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours

--

Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

If you’re someone who’s watched a lot of Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, you’ll know what I mean when I say I used to be a lot like Rebecca Bunch. As someone who’s been previously diagnosed with borderline personality disorder (BPD), I can tell you that the show’s depiction of the mental illness was pretty much on point, despite the absurdity added for comic relief.

I was a walking disaster, especially when it came to my romantic relationships. I didn’t know how out-of-line I was or why I kept having such awful outcomes with the men I loved. I didn’t know why I was continuously drawn to men who wound up using me or breaking my heart.

It took several years and an epic amount of heartbreak, but I finally did go into remission and that’s given me the valuable ability to look back over my past behavior and identify the unhealthy patterns I frequently missed back then.

Often, toxic people don’t know they’re toxic. I sure didn’t. And while we commonly talk about the traits of toxic men, it’s hard to find a real-life discussion of toxic women that doesn’t fall into a number of ridiculous tropes. For example, we traditionally give bad behavior from men a pass by labeling any women he’s burned as “crazy.”

--

--

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours

It's not about being flawless, it's about being honest. Calling out vipers since 2018 🍵 https://ko-fi.com/shannonashley 📧 truthurts.substack.com