Actual Conversations With My Six Year Old In Quarantine

Happy Mother’s Day, folks.

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours

--

Author's daughter, at the desk specifically purchased for Zoom school

The last Lucky Charms cereal bar

Me: Hey, do you want this last cereal bar? I’m trying to clear out the pantry of random stuff. It’s a one-off, so, this is the last one from… months ago.

6 year old: Oh. YES.

(Twenty minutes later…)

6 year old: Can I have another one of those Lucky Charms bars?

Me: Um, that was the last one, remember?

6 year old: (Eyes tearing up) But if I knew that I would have eaten it so much slower!

Also me:

Author's screenshot

By the way, the new bars were expired. Luckily, Target made it right and I have since made a breakfast nook on top of our mini beverage fridge. Now my daughter can easily grab a breakfast bar, drink, and string cheese when I’m busy working. It’s been life changing.

The mini tantrum

6 year old: Mom, can I do ______? [Can be literally anything to which I say “not right now.”]

--

--

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours

It's not about being flawless, it's about being honest. Calling out vipers since 2018 🍵 https://ko-fi.com/shannonashley 📧 truthurts.substack.com