Insecurity Is Not a Life Sentence

And I really wish you could see that right now.

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours

--

I have borderline personality disorder. I’m not ashamed of it at all, because my diagnosis pretty much saved my life.

I spent about three decades wondering what the hell was wrong with me, and I was tired of trying antidepressants or anti-anxiety medications which never even took the edge off my pain. With my BPD diagnosis, suddenly, my pain and trauma made more sense.

After so much confusion, I could see a light at the end of the tunnel. Finally.

There are so many misconceptions about borderline personality disorder that many medical professionals are not immune to spreading misinformation about the condition.

Some doctors refuse to take patients with BPD, claiming that we are not highly treatable. Many professionals also insist there is no cure for the personality disorder.

Most people within the general public only associate being borderline with fictional characters on TV. They think of the jilted Alex in Fatal Attraction or the over-controlling Norma Bates who spawned a psycho.

Borderline personality disorder is typically seen through a significant and unsubstantiated bias that often leads patients to feeling hopeless rather than empowered. That’s the…

--

--

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours

It's not about being flawless, it's about being honest. Calling out vipers since 2018 🍵 https://ko-fi.com/shannonashley 📧 truthurts.substack.com