My Husband Left Me for His High School Sweetheart

They reconnected through Facebook.

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours

--

Photo by Thom Holmes on Unsplash

When my husband broke the news that he was leaving me, he couldn’t stand to say it to my face. Instead, he scribbled a note onto a paper plate. If that wasn’t bad enough, he crumpled the paper plate to fit it into our mailbox.

To truly appreciate the awfulness, you should know that we were living in a little apartment above a Chinese restaurant in Belleville, Illinois. The entrance to our place was in the back alley. Our actual mailbox was in front of the restaurant, which meant that we had to walk all the way around the block just to check the mail.

Since we didn’t check the mail every day, one of my first thoughts was how long that note had been sitting in the box. And if the postal worker had read it.

While I’m sure my ex-husband had his reasons for breaking up in that way, I can assure you that leaving your wife by scribbling a note on a paper plate and shoving it into your mailbox is among the worst ways to go.

Don’t do it.

My husband left me because he was unhappy in our (mostly) sexless marriage. Actually, we were both unhappy and I had also wanted out of the relationship for a while. But in those days, I didn’t know how to effectively communicate or manage my own…

--

--

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours

It's not about being flawless, it's about being honest. Calling out vipers since 2018 🍵 https://ko-fi.com/shannonashley 📧 truthurts.substack.com