Not Sure How Much Holiday Magic I Can Make This year

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours
Published in
9 min readNov 28, 2022

--

Sophie's Elf in 2021

My daughter Sophie believes in Santa. I mean, she really believes in Santa. It’s not even Thanksgiving as I write this, yet she’s already talking about how great it will be when her Elf on the Shelf gets here.

That’s right, folks. My eight-year-old is such a big believer in Santa that she also believes in the magic of a little toy elf we brought home from Target a few years ago.

Facebook Screenshot

The funny thing is that I never planned on doing the Santa stuff with my daughter. I didn’t want to lie to her. I think the whole surveilance bit and judgments of “naughty or nice” are weird. At least, they aren’t the sort of messages I want to use as a parent.

So, I told Sophie that some families celebrate Santa, while some families don’t, and among the families that do celebrate Santa, there are many different ways to go about it.

“Some families treat Santa more like a character in a story,” I explained. “Other families act like he’s a real person.”

Do you know what happened?

Uh huh, Sophie decided she wanted our family to believe in Santa. Actually, by the time she turned six, she…

--

--

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours

It's not about being flawless, it's about being honest. Calling out vipers since 2018 🍵 https://ko-fi.com/shannonashley 📧 truthurts.substack.com