Should I Delete My Work to Avoid a Lawsuit?

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours
Published in
6 min readAug 23, 2021

--

Unsplash

Some of you might recall how earlier this summer I received a cease and desist letter from a certain church that was unhappy with my coverage of Gracie Solomon’s story.

Content warning: Gracie’s video below discusses serious child abuse, rape, and sexual assault.

According to the letter, I was “demanded” to retract my statements by 6/21/21, and then cease to make any further statements that might injure the church’s reputation. According to them, obviously. If I did not comply, the church’s attorney advised they would “proceed with an action to enforce its legal and equitable remedies and to seek compensatory as well as punitive damages, costs and attorney’s fees.”

Ugh. The whole thing was pretty crummy.

An evangelical Christian church threatens a single mom blogger with a lawsuit for appearing “to adopt wholesale and re-publish certain false and defamatory statements contained in a video statement published by Gracie Solomon.” In other words? They got mad that I supported the child behind the video above… all because it might make…

--

--

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours

It's not about being flawless, it's about being honest. Calling out vipers since 2018 🍵 https://ko-fi.com/shannonashley 📧 truthurts.substack.com