Thank You for Being Our Village

I can never thank you enough.

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours

--

Sophie in school earlier this afternoon

A few posts back, I wrote about my struggle to “make the holidays happen” this year. In it, I included a link to an Amazon Christmas wishlist for my daughter Sophie, because that’s something a few people recommended (or asked me to do) this year to help lighten the load.

I felt and still feel awkward about the whole thing (and I’m no fan of Amazon’s ethos), but I went ahead and included the link because I love my daughter and the truth is we don’t have a strong local support system.

I didn’t want to make a big deal about it — and I didn’t share it outside of my writing here. I don’t want anyone to feel badgered or pressured, of course. I simply wanted to make the option available for folks who wish to help be “Santa” to Sophie this year.

Well, I’ve been astounded that some wonderful readers and fellow writers have responded by sending us some items from that wishlist. Packages for Sophie began arriving late last week. I’ve got them hidden in a closet for now, and I’ll be getting thank-you messages out to each individual.

Right now, I want to thank you for being there for me but especially for Sophie. I’m afraid I can’t thank you nearly enough, but it means everything to know that she’s going to have a good holiday despite everything that’s…

--

--

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours

It's not about being flawless, it's about being honest. Calling out vipers since 2018 🍵 https://ko-fi.com/shannonashley 📧 truthurts.substack.com