This Is How Dystopian Nightmares Begin

We can't afford to keep underestimating Trump.

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours

--

Image by www_slon_pics from Pixabay

All my life, I've heard that America is different. That our President must be subject to checks and balances. And that our country is for the people.

I am 36 years old. I was educated in some of the most highly-rated public schools in the Twin Cities. Those schools were diverse and rarely contained more than half a white student body. Usually less.

In grade school, we recited the pledge of allegiance. In high school, I met wealthy classmates who were positive that America was the greatest nation in the world, but I just rolled my eyes when they talked about that.

For my part, I grew up believing that America was great because of its diversity. Saint Paul and Minneapolis have long benefited by the presence of immigrants and people of color.

Our local businesses were bustling with great things. Farmers markets, world cuisine, international grocery stores. We all lived better for it.

When some folks think of Minnesota, they might think of Lutherans and A Prairie Home Companion, but in reality, life was much more diverse than that. Although Catholicism was the largest religious denomination, I attended classes with plenty of Buddhists, Muslims, Unitarians, agnostics, and atheists…

--

--

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours

It's not about being flawless, it's about being honest. Calling out vipers since 2018 🍵 https://ko-fi.com/shannonashley 📧 truthurts.substack.com