What Can We Do With All of These Broken Woke Men?

A plea to start talking.

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours

--

There’s a male creative out on the internet who is very popular and has a talent for making you think hard and feel more through his work. No matter how many people gush about him, however, I just can’t bring myself to read his work anymore.

You see, every time I try to read his pieces, something… bothers me. It’s not just that this guy doesn’t seem quite genuine or that his “woke credentials” reek of faux feminism to me. It’s that his behavior online gives me the heebie-jeebies and raises a lot of red flags.

We’ve been in more than one common social media community, with folks chiming in from around the globe, and I’ve consistently noticed that he typically comments on the posts written by women, while mostly ignoring the men. That might not seem like such a big deal, but the way he tends to interact with women is also a bit too flirty for a dude who supposedly supports women and #MeToo.

Of course, just because I feel the presence of a red flag, that doesn’t mean there’s a problem at all. I’ve told myself on multiple occasions that I might just be paranoid.

In fact, for years, I’ve said nothing and kept my feelings to myself.

--

--

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours

It's not about being flawless, it's about being honest. Calling out vipers since 2018 🍵 https://ko-fi.com/shannonashley 📧 truthurts.substack.com