When Coworkers Complained That I Smelled Bad, It Nearly Cost Me My Job

Here’s something they don’t tell you about using essential oils.

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours

--

Like a lot of other women, I’ve been bitten by the “direct sales bug” more than once in my life. Pampered Chef, Chloe + Isobel, Usborne Books. If I didn’t try to sell the stuff myself, I hosted parties to earn free or discounted products.

I am not a natural sales person. In fact, I hate selling anything. With each new direct sales company, however, I bought into the notion that these products would basically “sell themselves.” In case you missed it? I’m somewhat gullible and a bit more susceptible to advertising than others (though I’ve gotten better with age).

Of course, those direct sales products never did sell themselves. I busted my butt to make any sales.

Yet in my mid-twenties, I kept turning to the fairytale of direct selling associations because I wanted more for my life. More money. More freedom. But I didn’t know how to get there on my own. DSAs make more sound simple.

For a while I put a lot of faith in doTERRA Essential Oils. I came on as a “wellness advocate” or whatever they called it at the time because I bought into nearly all of the hype about essential oils changing people’s lives.

--

--

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours

It's not about being flawless, it's about being honest. Calling out vipers since 2018 🍵 https://ko-fi.com/shannonashley 📧 truthurts.substack.com