Who Benefits From Your Writing?

ICYMI, every writer is going to be criticized or misunderstood.

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours

--

A few days ago, I received some interesting feedback from a couple of readers. First, one reader wrote in to complain that I come across as entitled. She explained that she used to really like my writing, but now I “write for writers,” and that’s not what she wants to read. She ended her critique about a particular story by telling me, “this stinks.”

A day later, a different reader complained that my stories are not helpful enough to other writers. His complaint was that they benefit me the most because many people read my stories about writing.

Two readers want very different things from my writing. It got me thinking, who actually benefits from my writing anyway?

Is it really just me?

I’d been letting that question marinate for a couple of days, when another writer/reader’s comments interrupted my thoughts. Someone I respect a great deal accused me of saying something I hadn’t actually said, but they interpretted additional meaning into my writing.

It sucked. Big-time.

I don’t like being misunderstood. I don’t like being told that I mean something other than anything I actually meant.

--

--

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours

It's not about being flawless, it's about being honest. Calling out vipers since 2018 🍵 https://ko-fi.com/shannonashley 📧 truthurts.substack.com