Why I Went with Ko-fi Gold Over Patreon, Substack, or Ghost

Here’s that messy, rambling thought process about my latest move.

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours

--

Yeah, so, I really love cats. They might appear on my page often...

I’m currently in the process of building out a Ko-fi page and telling others about it to help bring in more support for my work.

More than a year ago, I had a Patreon, but I always, always struggled with it and the feeling that I was letting everybody down by not giving them enough value. It was stressful.

Over the years, I’ve had a hard time getting over the feeling that readers support me as a favor. That feeling means I think it’s a huge ask to get people to read my work, and an even bigger one to offer other ways for folks to contribute to my work (through a channel like Patreon).

I don’t know if most other autistic or ADHD people get easily squashed beneath the pressure of such guilt, but I do. I feel so bad about feeling indebted that I wind up dropping the ball right away.

So, it’s been weird.

For a long time, people have been telling me to have multiple income streams and I’ve been like… I really don’t think you guys understand how hard that is for some neurodivergent people like me. The pressure and trouble with juggling those responsibilities is pretty intense.

--

--

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours

It's not about being flawless, it's about being honest. Calling out vipers since 2018 🍵 https://ko-fi.com/shannonashley 📧 truthurts.substack.com