Writing a Blog Post In 30 Minutes Is Not What I Need

I can’t see how this sort of pressure benefits anyone’s mental health.

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours

--

Do you know what I did today, folks? I woke up at 4:45AM, wrote on my phone until 6AM, got up out of bed, made breakfast and lunch for my daughter, then drove her to school. On the way home, I drove through the two gas stations I use… but the pumps were closed, so, I drove back home, made myself some coffee, and got to work.

This tweet sums up my week. Hopefully, I can fuel up on Monday.

My writing gave me a bit of trouble today, partly because there are so many different stories I want to write, but only one of me. In the end, I had a little bit of doubt about the topic I chose to write about simply — because certain subjects I cover can be a bit polarizing, and I really don’t want my stories to fly under the radar these days when I’m working so hard.

To be honest, I wrote one 15-minute piece from about 10AM to 4PM, and I forgot to eat lunch. By then, I had to leave to pick up my daughter from school and I felt disappointed with myself for not being finished with my work. When my daughter and I got home, I prepared dinner and knew I wasn’t really in the headspace to finish the story…

--

--

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours

It's not about being flawless, it's about being honest. Calling out vipers since 2018 🍵 https://ko-fi.com/shannonashley 📧 truthurts.substack.com