You Can’t Hate Me Any More Than I Hated Me

Are certain folks mad that a fat woman quit hating herself for her kid?

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours

--

Very lucky how much my daughter loves me regardless of the way I look. It's her opinion that matters most.

CN: food, body, weight stigma, depression

Ever since I began to seek treatment for lipedema, there have been critics to declare that I must be a liar. First, it was people suggesting I was a scammer and that the images I shared of my lipedema body likely weren’t even me.

Then, when I made an embarrassing Instagram video talking about and SHOWING my disfigurement before beginning my treatments, such critics harped upon the idea that fine, if this was my body, the only way they could explain it was that I had done it to myself.

Strangers decided that I GAVE myself lipedema through poor lifestyle choices. Utterly ignoring what the experts say about lipedema. Does nutrition and lifestyle play a part in slowing the progression of disease?

Yes! Clearly.

Lipedema experts and researchers still don’t blame advanced and morbidly obese lipo-lymphedema patients for their predicament because they understand how it is a social failure, and a medical failure due to the lack of proper education in medical school.

Lipedema patients are understood to have extremely high rates of psychological problems and eating…

--

--

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours

It's not about being flawless, it's about being honest. Calling out vipers since 2018 🍵 https://ko-fi.com/shannonashley 📧 truthurts.substack.com