Homelessness

Loft Living, Hustleman and Homelessness

Honestly Ed
HonestlyEd
9 min readDec 6, 2020

--

James “Hustleman” Griffin. Photo via Iron City Ink

Post #7 of #20: I’m reflecting on twenty years of personal and professional experiences in Birmingham and beyond. Visit www.medium.com/HonestlyEd to read the full #20For20 series.

I have always been a city kid.

Concrete, curbs and noise have been ever-present most of my life. As unnatural as I know these things are, they are what I know. I grew up riding public transportation with over-sized headphones and a head full of Hip-Hop.

So, it was natural that I would eventually become a downtown loft dweller. Twice.

I was 28-years-old when I moved into Liberty House Lofts in Downtown Birmingham in November 2003. It was the beginning of a major shift in sentiment about downtown. Young professionals were beginning to move downtown en masse. The coming of a second renaissance.

Birmingham’s Background

Liberty House Lofts was a peanut butter brown, four-story brick building located on 1st Avenue North and 23rd street, was built in 1909. Like most of the lofts between 1st Avenue North and Morris Avenue, the original purpose of the building was to serve as a warehouse for goods to be distributed throughout Birmingham or the Southeast via the railroad located just a few hundred yards away.

--

--

Honestly Ed
HonestlyEd

Insights, revelry, and beauty from an essayist, poet, and civic strategist.