Poems: April Showers

Honestly Ed
HonestlyEd
Published in
1 min readApr 29, 2020

--

In Recognition of National Poetry Month
Poems by Ed Fields

My hiking trip at Little River Canyon, Fort Payne, AL

Saturated

I sat
impure
I hated.

Light of the Son

I am
the melanin drenched
son of the sun

It is no wonder
that I have risen

I am back
to true form

beaming

in light of it all

my vision repaired
I can see
love revived

I have returned
to me.

Mindfulness

you move from room to room
in the mansion of my mind

perpetual hide-and-seek
you haunt me

my beloved poltergeist

never here
always there
somewhere

my mind
more or less
full of you

fill my mind
feel my heart
feel my mind
fill my heart

--

--

Honestly Ed
HonestlyEd

Insights, revelry, and beauty from an essayist, poet, and civic strategist.