The Real Power Behind Randall Woodfin

Honestly Ed
HonestlyEd
Published in
6 min readAug 24, 2021

--

Post #13 of #20: I am reflecting on twenty years of personal and professional experiences in Birmingham and beyond. Visit www.medium.com/HonestlyEd to read my full #20For20 series.

My twenty-year journey in Birmingham has been an awesome exploration of leadership and power. Some of my experiences have been intimate, intense and, at times, the revelations have been shocking.

Indeed, we are a city with a 150-year-old complicated relationship with power, especially at City Hall.

But, power is not what it appears to be. People with titles and organizations such as CEOs, activists, pastors, and other leaders are not moving the masses of people in Birmingham. They certainly do represent segments of people, but too few are doing the hard work of organizing people and tapping into their true power potential.

This is the story of two women without organizations or titles who represent the masses of people who are starving for contact, engagement and representation in ways that are more traditional than progressive.

My experience with Carol and Phyllis represent one of the bright spots in my career in terms of civic engagement and leadership. I don’t want to stop doing this work until you see what I see, even if you see it differently.

--

--

Honestly Ed
HonestlyEd

Insights, revelry, and beauty from an essayist, poet, and civic strategist.