City Leadership

Your Garbage Man is the Best Communicator You Know (Part 2)

My Day in the Life as a Trash Collector

Honestly Ed
HonestlyEd
Published in
8 min readJun 24, 2023

--

Photo by omid roshan on Unsplash

Part 2 of 2: My day in the life experience as a trash collector with the City of Birmingham Department of Public Works. Read Part 1 here.

Ijust finished an abbreviated morning trash run and thought the most exciting part of my day was behind me.

Hayik, the Refuse Truck Driver, dropped me off at North Division headquarters for my next assignment. I might as well have been sent to detention as far as I was concerned.

I was a little disappointed to be moved to a limb loader crew because I truly believed the hardest part of trash collection was the work our crew just did — the daily trash run. It was fast, hard, and for the most part, what I expected.

But, I did not expect what happened next.

I sat for a short while, waiting for Jacarri to return and introduce me to my limb loader HEO (Heavy Equipment Operator), Jeremy.

--

--

Honestly Ed
HonestlyEd

Insights, revelry, and beauty from an essayist, poet, and civic strategist.