The most important factor when choosing a wedding photographer

honeydew
Honeydew Reads
Published in
5 min readJun 19, 2018

Taylor Ochoa, wedding and elopement photographer, tells us her secret sauce

1. What advice would you give couples who are just starting to look for a photographer?

Find a photographer that you feel comfortable with. Don’t let the place you live be the limit. Ask friends and family for personal referrals and ask them about their experience in working with their photographer.

Taylor Ochoa | In Home Session with Mariah and Mason

When I thought about how to market to couples who would consider booking a photographer outside of their state (or country), it really changed my thoughts on marketing. Yes, there are a lot of photographers who cost less, and there are a lot of photographers that can take pretty photos. But how could I show people that my work is worth the investment? Genuine connection. You’re hiring someone you can put your trust in, someone who will go above and beyond for you, someone who you feel comfortable with stepping into those precious moments and provide you with beautiful photographs to cherish for years and years to come. I am not someone who is simply trying to get a free vacation out of it. Some of my favorite weddings that were out of state are my favorite simply because my business connected me with some really incredible people I wouldn’t have met otherwise. I got to fly out and be a part of such a special day, and they’re now some of my closest friends.

When you’ve chosen a few photographers to pick from and received quotes for your day, don’t be afraid to ask to see full galleries. Ask to see wedding similar to yours (such as: traditional catholic ceremonies vs. outdoor non-traditional ceremonies, indoor receptions with lots of dancing vs. an outdoor reception with a s’mores bar.) Look at their use of light and their style, and try to apply that to your own wedding in your mind. But ultimately, as I’ve touched on, find a photographer that you connect with and that you can trust.

2. Will you share some of your secret sauce? What makes your approach to wedding photography, unique?

I really love to connect with people. I feel honored that they trusted me to document such an important day and milestone in their lives. I think that connecting genuinely with your clients will not only make them feel more relaxed in front of your camera, but comfortable enough to let you in on their really intimate, sweet, and sometimes tearful moments. I definitely strive to document how a moment makes you FEEL. I give direction for interactions when needed, rather than pose-after-pose of what is found on Pinterest. I love to photograph details, but I prefer to photograph the people. I’m obsessed with texture and light, and I really like to bring those elements into my work. I mainly just love to document the vibe. I love my photos to feel organic and full of the joy that love brings us.

Taylor Ochoa | Lindsey and Ethan wedding

3. How long have you been photographing weddings for?

I am about to step into my 8th year of business! I can’t believe how fast time flies. I’ve been able to learn so much with each individual wedding, not only about my work but also about myself. I specifically love how I can go back through the years in my portfolio and see how much my work has changed. I really started to hone in on my “style” of photography about 5 years ago, and I can tell that I gained more confidence in myself and in my work about 3 years ago.

4. What was the moment(s) you decided you wanted to do photography professionally?

When I was 14, I dabbled in photographing my friends and family members. We would do little photo sessions and my sister was my primary model. When I was 16, I started to photograph my friends who would be in relationships, and when I was about 17, one of my friends got married. I assisted their wedding photographers on their wedding day and at the end of the day, it dawned on me that this is something I would really LOVE to do. Being able to watch the behind the scenes and see the process was really inspiring. That’s when the fire in my heart sparked and my new dream was being a full-time wedding photographer. From there, I dreamed of traveling the world and documenting elopements and weddings.

5. Tell us a funny story about one of the jobs you did!

Oh boy. Recently, I was on a beach photographing a ceremony and I was backing up and out of the way after the bride walked down the aisle and was given away by her dad. I was taking photos as I was backing up, and usually I’m pretty good about checking over my shoulder as I go. This particular beach had a few large rocks scattered around (up to my ankles and a few to my mid-calf) which I totally forgot about as I was backing away. I definitely hit a rock with my foot, and almost completely ate it. Luckily, I was able to catch myself, but I was a little shaken up knowing how ridiculous I would’ve looked if I actually fell. The bridesmaids were directly across from me and probably saw the whole thing, too. Haha.

I’m clumsy, awkward, and pretty introverted. But I recognize that if I want other people to step out and be silly, I know I need to do it first. So I’m right there with them in it. I will show examples on what I need them to do, I will make ridiculous noises and comments behind my camera to get some genuine laughter or reaction. Anything for the shot.

If you want to see more interviews like this, give us claps, or share this article with your friends!

To see more of Taylor’s work, check out TMInspired, her Instagram, and her Facebook

--

--