When was the last time you take on a different route to home?

Bronze Leung
Hong Kong Community Leaders
2 min readOct 29, 2018

When was the last time you take on a different route to home ?
When was the last time you cook a different type of cuisine?
When was the last time you try a new sport?
When was the last time you learn a new skill?
When was the last time you try out a different morning routine?
When was the last time you intentionally build a new habit?

Sometimes we are so used to our choices or decisions that we never question what we do.

Trying Out Something New

I have started cooking around 1.5 years ago. Starting from just boiling eggs or sweet potatoes, seasoning them with pepper and salt. Then moving on to learning more about cooking pasta or some western dishes. One day I got inspired and realised I can actually make a pizza at home with my mini oven. Trying to make something I have never thought to make at home before, the process was quite fun! It sounds weird but sometimes even though the things I have at home can create a lot of possibilities or new dishes, I normally just went with something I am familiar with.

A few months ago, I was really curious about how doing martial arts is like. I was always doing the same sports like swimming or going to the gym, but I never really tried anything else. I got on guavapass and went to Jujitsu and Thai boxing classes. I was very scared in the beginning because I completely have no idea how it would be like. But then the experiences was really fun. It got me into looking at Jujitsu videos on youtube, trying to what an armbar is, what submissions could be done, this and that.

Currently, I am trying to learn yoga by watching youtube videos, Yoga with Adriene. A really great channel that I have learned so much from it. It was like a self-discovery process of what your body can do that I never expected. Also, I have been trying an app called Asana Rebel which introduces me to the concept of yoga fitness. It works handy when I travel to China that youtube access is limited.

I am here making an assumption that one of the goals we all have would be enriching our experiences. By trying out new things as many as possible, we can hopefully understand more of what we like or don’t like, also increasing our experiences.

And by the way, posting on Medium is also something super new for me that I am just going to try it!

Set up a 30 days challenge for yourself. Each day test out/ do 1 thing that you usually wouldn’t do. Maybe it will lead you to see more things in 30 days than you would have in a year given in the same environment. It’s fun!

Let me know what you think about it or if you have tried something new. Connect with me on Instagram (@bronzeleung). Looking forward to hearing from you soon!

--

--