Hong’s Stories: My first spiritual guide

How Joni Mitchell led me to my spiritual path

Emile Westergaard
Hong’s Stories
2 min readOct 10, 2018

--

Amituofu! This live performance by Joni with Herbie and an incredible band is mesmerizing. Joni has inspired me since I started listening to her folk music albums like Clouds and songs like Woodstock and Song About the Midway freshman year in high school. Then I was blown away by Blue, The Hissing of Summer Lawns, Hejira, Don Juan’s Reckless Daughter and Mingus.

Joni was my musical education. Through her music, I discovered Jaco and Mingus which led me into Miles, Coltrane, and Ornette and on and on. She was also my first guide down my spiritual path though I didn’t know it at the time. Refuge of the Roads on her Hejira album is about spiritual master Chogyam Trungpa. She introduced him into my subconscious years before I started to steep in his writings.

From Joni, I learned to keep going deeper. She is a relentlessly honest explorer in her music and lyrics. Her later albums like Night Ride Home synthesize all of her styles and are again uniquely Joni. She is one person I especially wish I could sit and talk with about music and life. I am sure it would be funny and deep with a healthy dose of piss and vinegar.

More chi! Train harder!

Hong

Hong of $aint Benjamins is a Wall Street defector turned entrepreneur and Shaolin monk. Hong also performs his original songs in various settings.

--

--