Daniela Velez

Ora Full Circle
Honoring Ora
Published in
2 min readJun 13, 2018

Daniela Velez was trained by Ora at Precious Blood Ministry of Reconciliation to be a circle keeper.

How would you describe Ora?
She is the REAL OG. She is calm, comforting and has an amazing capacity to listen, without judgment. Her whole being made me drop all farce and allowed me to be open and vulnerable. She is a healer.

What is your favorite memory of Ora?
I will never forget the four day training she led. I was new to restorative justice and I was also recently sober and recovering from alcohol addiction. She encouraged me to open up and I remember all of the crying I did. She rubbed my back and would just listen. I didn’t quite realize the impact circle keeping had on its participants until I sat in circle with her. It was one of the first times I was ever honest with others. I remember her stories. She is an amazing story teller.

How has Ora impacted your life?
Since I met her and got to know her, she has been my role model. I am entering the legal profession after being a circle keeper for the last two years, and I quite honestly want to do all she has done. Ora is a true peace maker. That is my goal. I look at situations where there is strife and ask myself, “what would Ora do?” It’s strange because even though I only spent four days with her, she has been with me this whole time.

How will you honor Ora in circle and beyond?
I will never let go of her memory and all she stood for. I will continue to look for reconciliation in all situations. I will honor her memory in my legal practice and in my RJ practices by evoking her patience, non-judgment, sense of humor, calmness. I love you Ora. I will carry you with me always. Thank you for your work and your service. I wish you a happy and peaceful transition. I hope our souls meet again.

--

--