Emily Koza

Ora Full Circle
Honoring Ora
Published in
2 min readJun 13, 2018

Emily Koza met Ora in circle keeper training in May 2015.

How would you describe Ora?
Warm and wise.

What is your favorite memory of Ora?
I was going through a deep depression after graduating law school and being unable to find employment. I had been wanting to do circle keeper training after taking an restorative justice class at DePaul Law, but being unemployed, I was broke. When I emailed Ora to ask for a reduced rate, she offered to allow me to take the course for free. She showed me, a complete and utter stranger, such immediate kindness and generosity. I was blown away. Once I went through training with her, I knew the kindness and generosity she showed me weren’t a fluke: it was simply who she was.

How has Ora impacted your life?
It’s hard to put into words how Ora has impacted me; the phrase that comes to mind is “soul imprinting.” I feel like I will bring both of them into circle with me as much as possible. Beyond, I will continue to spread the message of restorative justice, and I will continue to advocate for establishing restorative spaces.. I feel so blessed to have gotten the chance to learn from her.

How will you honor Ora in circle and beyond?
I will bring both of them into circle with me as much as possible. Beyond, I will continue to spread the message of restorative justice, and I will continue to advocate for establishing restorative spaces.

--

--