Gail T. Smith

Ora Full Circle
Honoring Ora
Published in
2 min readJun 13, 2018

Gail T. Smith met Ora when she was teaching at Northwestern as part of Girl Talk and other initiatives.

How would you describe Ora?
Wise, kind, funny, brilliant, steadfast, utterly committed and grounded.

What is your favorite memory of Ora?
Her profound insight and modeling of best practice during the four day circle keeper training I took part in in 2013. Ora was extraordinary, teaching us by example how to navigate potentially contentious moments with quiet honesty and kindness. She told us, “You will make mistakes.” She gave us permission to strive and not expect perfection, which paralyzes so many of us. It was a deeply meaningful four days, and I appreciated coming back as often as I could for the monthly keeper gatherings.

How has Ora impacted your life?
I learned more than I can describe from Ora, about working with youth, about policy, and especially about the elements of circle practice. I will do my best to follow Ora’s and Cheryl’s examples in circle and in daily work, with humility, humor, and love.

How will you honor Ora in circle and beyond?
I am so grateful for Ora’s life and teaching, and so very sad as she comes to the end of her time here. I know her work and her spirit will stay with many, many people. I hope to honor her memory at every opportunity. Sending much love and hoping for profound blessings in this process.

--

--