Selena Quintanilla-Pérez

Nichole Mayo
Honors 10
Published in
1 min readDec 14, 2018

My mom's side of the family is Hispanic and in my house whenever we are cleaning we somehow end up listening to one of Selena's songs. My personal favorite is Si Una Ves or I could fall in love. I idolize her because she is from Hispanic descent so Selena is Chicana. My mother is Mexican and my father is American which makes me and my little sister Chicana as well. Selena's songs are so beautiful and so meaningful. She was so sweet and loved everybody. Her and my mom were born one year apart. Selena would have been 47 today but her life ended when she was just 25. She was murdered by Yolanda Saldívar because she was embezzling money. Selena left a huge mark in the latino world. She left a mark so big that Netflix is making a series about her and her life. She will always be remembered by so many people. My family will never stop listening to her and we are excited about the new series.

--

--