Day 12 — Weathering change

weberswords
hoodlumcultured
Published in
3 min readDec 2, 2018
Photo by Javier Allegue Barros on Unsplash

The struggle I’ve always had is that I thought change was an exception. I thought of it as a once in a while, deal with it when it comes type situation. Unfortunately, this mentality led me to always be surprised by it. It would sneak up on me and sabotage all the progress and habit change I had made. I’d find myself reverting to the most basic behaviors whether it was sacrificing my workouts or ingesting junk or skipping my cleaning routine (for my house, not my person…maybe sometimes my person).

Time and time again, whether it was changing jobs or moving or the whirlwind of life events or the holidays, these events showed up, wreaked havoc with my routines and habits, and before I realized what was happening I had been sent back to start do not pass go, do not collect $200.

I’ve learned how to embrace the one step back that these events cause without beating myself up about it and letting it turn into 10 or 20 steps back. Here’s my recipe.

Recognize that you have something headed your way

This is an ideal. Sometimes things happen that aren’t in our control and aren’t expected. If it’s a move or a job change or some other expected life event, like the holidays perhaps, I recognize and accept that my habits will be disrupted and think about ways I can mitigate total annihilation. Even in the midst of unexpected change, it is possible to recognize it’s happening and find small ways to mitigate a total backslide.

For example, I recently moved. I knew this would upset a lot of my habits — how I eat, exercise, get work done, manage my time. I was attending a martial arts class twice per week. It was within walking distance of where I lived. That wouldn’t be the case in my new place.

Find small ways to mitigate a total backslide

If you know what’s headed your way you can think up some potential strategies for mitigating it. Try to think up a couple and if you try one for a week or so and it doesn’t seem to be catching on, reach for another strategy you thought of.

While I didn’t want to make a hasty decision about joining a new studio and I knew I wouldn’t have a car for a bit, I decided to go back to a previously established habit of microworkouts. I’d do 10 of something — squats, pushups, pullups (I have a bar in the doorway) — every time I used the restroom or just whenever I feel like it. It adds up. It isn’t the same as a dedicated 45 minutes twice per week, but it’s better than absolutely nothing.

Go easy on yourself

Beating yourself up for a slight backslide will only snowball the backslide. Be kind and loving to yourself as you’re going through this change. We underestimate how change can cause imperceptible stress that impacts our sleep and health. Be compassionate and treat yourself as you would a good friend going through the same thing.

Take small steps to work back up to the habit

Keep at the forefront of your mind that you want to get back to the habit you had established before the change. Each week, make tiny strides toward regaining the ground you temporarily lost. TEMPORARILY is the key here. It’s super easy for a week to turn into a month to turn into six months and soon you’re back to square one. You’re at the very beginning and you’ve lost all ground. Set a reminder in your calendar and remember lazily when you should up your game. You don’t have to regain all that ground at once, but make sure you’re still moving forward. Forward is best. Maintaining is still better than backsliding.

While I’m waiting on getting a car and finding a new studio, I’ve started going through a similar workout as I used to do at my old studio just at home. I’m starting small with 20 minutes and I’m planning to work up to 45 again twice per week. I’m not there yet though. It’s only been two weeks.

--

--

weberswords
hoodlumcultured

Software developer & consultant. Former classroom teacher & digital learning coach. Apple Distinguished Educator.