Book review: The song walker – Zillah Bethell

Emilia Astrid
Hooked on Books
Published in
May 9, 2024
Source: Usborne

This book was recently shortlisted for the Yoto Carnegie book awards 2024.

This book is about a girl who finds herself stranded in the Australian outback, with no memory of herself. This novel follows her journey of travelling the outback, making friends and rediscovering herself.

I would recommend this book for children aged between 10–13.

It took me a while to get into, but once I got into the book, I found it a very good read. I liked how it used the some words from the Australian first nation’s language, and had a glossary at the front, as it made the book more interesting. I would rate this book 7 out of 10.

--

--

Emilia Astrid
Hooked on Books

This account is by a child writing children/Young Adult Fiction book reviews