Book Review: I’m Glad My Mom Died by Jennette McCurdy

Memoir; Published 2022

Shelby Davies
Hooked on Books

--

Screenshot of the public library’s ebook as it’s about to open up to the first page, taken by Shelby Davies

I didn’t know anything about Jennette McCurdy before finally picking up her memoir, one that I had seen and heard about over the past year or so when rave reviews were flooding in. She was a child actor with bit parts in film and on TV who eventually landed a significant role on iCarly, a TV show on Nickelodeon. I’m not familiar with the show, nor any of her other work, and it turns out that going into this story blind added to the constant shock I felt reading it.

This was the craziest book I’ve read in the last decade. I could not put it down.

I devoured this book in about 24 hours when it showed up in my public library’s “Lucky Day” section, a category of in-demand books that cannot be held and can only be signed out for 7 days instead of the normal 21. It was late on a Monday evening, I was just getting over the flu, and I was tired of pacing the apps on my phone. Looking for a change, I logged into Libby. I’m Glad My Mom Died was the first book on the virtual shelf, its pale yellow cover depicting the author grimacing and holding a bumble-gum-pink urn spilling confetti. Provocative image to go with the provocative title. Click. Borrow.

I really didn’t know what I was getting into when I started reading this book. I knew from the hype…

--

--

Shelby Davies
Hooked on Books

I'm a former high school English teacher finding a new path. I'm learning to trust my own opinions again.