Book review: When Shadows Fall

Emilia Astrid
Hooked on Books
Published in
Jun 21, 2023
Source: Amazon UK

This emotional novel was recently shortlisted for the Yoto Carnegie Awards.

This book is about Kai and his 2 friends, Orla and Zak. After Kai’s life takes a turn for the worst, he just keeps going on a downwards spiral, moving further and further away from society and his old normal life.

This book is centred on a teenage boy called Kai. Throughout the novel, he reflects back on his childhood, showing how the best things in life can suddenly disappear.

I would rate this book 7.5/10 as I loved the illustrations, and I think that the book was written well. I didn’t enjoy the violence that was part of the way through the book. I think that the main themes of this book were mental health and dealing with grief. I would recommend this book for anyone aged 13/14+.

--

--

Emilia Astrid
Hooked on Books

This account is by a child writing children/Young Adult Fiction book reviews