Show Your Work Like an Artist

A book review

Johanna K
Hooked on Books

--

So I am reading this book:

Link to the book on Amazon

The book is written by Austin Kleon, and I heard about that book so many times from different influencers.

Now, would I recommend the book to you? I guess I would. It’s not groundbreaking but it gives good reminders about why creators should share their work.

“Show your work!”, I often say to my students on their math tests. I am not interested in a lonely digit as an answer, without units or explanation.
Also, when I see how they came to their conclusions, I can give them a much more objective grade.

There is something beautiful in a way people think, not only in their thoughts and ideas as a final product. Kleon’s book insists on something similar: show the process, not just the product.

If you are interested in developing rules and routines for yourself regarding posting and sharing online, networking and selling your creations, you should definitely read “Show Your Work!”.
The book was written after another bestseller, called “Steal Like an Artist”.

Link to the book on Amazon

--

--

Johanna K
Hooked on Books

Teacher | Calligraphy artist | Writer | Notion template creator | Believer | Reader| Traveler