Be different, not just better: Blazing a career path with Karolina, enterprise account executive

Karolina shares the insights and values that have defined her career, how she creates a vision for customers, and how to ask the questions no one is asking.

Hootsuite Careers
Hootsuite Careers
4 min readJan 28, 2019

--

Tell us a bit about you.

A Polish girl who grew up in Chicago, made her way over to Vancouver, tested the waters in Toronto and now making her way back to Chicago. I go by Karo :)

I live for new experiences and am constantly seeking to learn more, to explore more, and to challenge myself every step of the way.

Those that know me well, know that I am motivated by my own drive to grow. Admittedly, that sounds super corny, but it’s true! I’m known to take time to reflect on all of my experiences and try to learn from them. I think this process is important because it opens up the opportunity to find what truly motivates you and forces you to be accountable for your decisions.

Why did you decide to work at Hootsuite?

Before applying to Hootsuite, I had several informational meetings at other companies. I did this to learn about the different businesses and industries in Vancouver with the goal of figuring out what was important to me from a career perspective. I was fortunate enough to have that time (and patience) to find a company I was excited about and that inspired me.

During that time, I knew I didn’t just want to be a fit for a role from a qualifications standpoint. I wanted to be a part of a company I was able to see myself contributing to in the long run. To my earlier point, a place that I knew I would be able to learn from. Hootsuite embodied all of those key components and took its chance on me. To this day, those components still ring true.

You’ve shifted gears a few times at Hootsuite, from social media coach to enterprise account executive — what have you learned from these different roles?

My journey at Hootsuite started as a Social Media Coach. If there is one phrase I can use to describe this role, it’s “jack of all trades.” At that time coaches were responsible for conducting customer training sessions, hosting webinars, owning internal projects, and driving additional revenue opportunities for our volume business. Being exposed to so much helped me zero in on what I really enjoyed doing — helping our customers solve problems and achieve business goals.

A natural next step for me was to pursue an opportunity as a Customer Success Manager. I was drawn to this role because I wanted to work strategically with our enterprise customers to help show the value of their investment. Throughout my time as a CSM, I was able to work with an array of customers spanning across different industries with different business needs, constantly learning along the way and building awesome relationships!

The CSM role taught me that becoming a trusted partner and proving value is impossible without teamwork. I will forever be grateful for my teammates across various departments doing whatever they could to help make our customers better at what they do.

Earlier this year I decided to shift gears yet again! I took on the opportunity to help new or existing customers find the right solution that will help make them more effective at achieving their business objectives. As an Enterprise Account Executive, I get to create a vision (backed by experience) for customers that encompasses every part of their journey with Hootsuite as their partner. I continue to work with a number of amazing people across different departments to make this vision a reality!

How do you know you’re making an impact at Hootsuite?

I know I’m making an impact when my customers truly see Hootsuite as more than just a vendor. Of course, we are always going to be solving a need from a product standpoint. But the magic happens when you have built trust and an authentic relationship with your customers. I value that beyond anything because I am just as invested in their success as they are.

Finish the sentence: The work I do is…

A constant reminder that you have to understand the “why” behind what you do. The best work comes from a combination of grit and passion. I wouldn’t be able to do the work I do on a daily basis if I didn’t believe that I am contributing to my best self.

What advice would you give to someone keen to make an impact at Hootsuite?

Someone said this to me a long time ago: “Be different, not just better.”

If you’re trying to make an impact anywhere, you have to be willing to look at the bigger picture, ask the questions no one is asking, challenge things, and trust yourself to take action.

Make an impact at Hootsuite and apply today.

--

--

Hootsuite Careers
Hootsuite Careers

Get to know our people, purpose and projects. #hootsuitelife