Traveler Interview — Nilabh — travelescape.in

Get inspiration and learn how the top travelers go about exploring the world

Satyajeet Jadhav
HopBucket
4 min readApr 2, 2018

--

https://www.travelescape.in/

“When I started traveling 6 to 7 years ago, it was hard to find accurate and authentic information about any destination. That’s why, I decided to start a travel blog, mainly, for domestic tourists.”, says Nilabh. He is a part time travel blogger and full-time software engineer from Bangalore. “When I was young, I was mainly confined to traveling around my home town and state. I wanted to change that after I grew up. That is what fueled my zeal to explore beyond the confines of my state.

Andaman!

Hi Nilabh, where did you travel recently and why did you choose that destination?

It was an all-boys trip to Andaman. We went there for PADI scuba certification course in the month of January. Apart from bring an adventure destination, Andaman is truly a tropical tourist destination in India. Havelock island is one of the must see attractions there. Radhanagar beach in Havelock is so beautiful that you won’t wish to come back. It’s like a big swimming pool out there!

What has been your best trip so far? And why?

Last January, my wife and I went to Mahabalipuram with our friends. Mahabalipuram offers many hotels and resorts for stay. But we chose to stay at a beach house. The name of the place was Kadal — sea in Tamil. We had a great time there! The sea was barely 300 ft from where we were staying. This accommodation gave us the opportunity to relax on the hammock, stay in a tent and try fishing like the locals. The Bluetooth enabled speakers provided by the owner gave us the reason to sing, dance and enjoy the best way we can. You can read more about our adventure here.

Do you visit all the places on your list or are you a more spur-of-the-moment traveler?

A bit of both, actually! I believe that the way you explore the world changes as you grow in life. I disagree with a few travel experts out there who emphasize on only one way of traveling, for example, traveling on super slim budgets and packing extremely light. More than money or a to-do list, I believe in traveling to create memories and to enjoy beautiful experiences!

Can you describe what all things you consider when planning a trip?

Earlier, I used to mine TripAdvisor for travel information. However, these days, a “nearby search” on Google or Facebook travel groups helps get quick results. Going through user generated blogs helps a lot, too!

How do you manage expenses when traveling? Do you have any hacks for finding the cheapest tickets or hotels?

If you are backpacking, the simplest hack to save money is to do couch surfing or to stay at a hostel. However, if you are traveling with your family, especially with children or elders, I recommend planning well in advance — at least 2 months before the trip. Look out for early bird hotel prices from hotel aggregators. You could even try calling and negotiating directly with the hotel. For this to work, you need to be very sure of your plan, holiday and the type of hotel you are expecting.

What is your favorite travel accessory — one that you can’t go without?

I am sure it is my Apple Iphone to start with and then my dji portable drone.

What equipment do you use for taking photos/recording videos?

I firmly believe photography and video documenting your travel experiences is a must. Not only to post on social networking sites but to cherish and enjoy the experience for a lifetime.

Nilabh with his drone! 😎

I have a portable but feature rich dji drone which I have carried with me for all my trips in the past 6 months. I am fond of aerial videography. You can watch some of my videos on my YouTube Channel. The next on my list is the DSLR canon 500D. I use the basic lens 18–55mm to take high resolution shots. However, these days, I find myself using my iPhone more than my DSLR. It is really handy and available to shoot anytime.

What are the destinations on your list for 2018?

I am looking forward to our North-East (India) trip this year. The north-east region of our country offers pristine landscapes, clean air and pure water, which is a luxury in big cities like Bangalore!

Do you have any advice for our readers?

I started late in pursuing my passion for travel. If you are passionate about travel and exploration, start now. Don’t worry about the money! That you will be able to deal with. As you grow older you won’t always have time and health on your side. Stay young stay curious!

One general advice from my travel experience is to respect the place, community and culture you are visiting. You should try out the local food to get the genuine experience and not always scout for Indian curry type outlets in a foreign country!

Where can our readers connect with you?

Social media are the best way to be in touch. I can be reached on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube!

If you liked this interview, please hit the applause button! This traveler story is brought to you by HopBucket.

--

--